

STATE OF CALIFORNIA CALIFORNIA SENIOR LEGISLATURE

1020 N Street, Room 527, Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone (916) 552-8056 Fax (916) 552-8013 4csl.org

JOINT RULES COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES September 23, 2021

Chair: Senior Senator John Pointer
Vice Chair: Senior Senator Jan Lemucchi
Vice Chair: Senior Assembly Member Shirley Krohn

I. Call To Order

The JRC Meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m.

II. Roll Call

Senior Senators: Steve Mehlman, Allan Bortel, Jan Lemucchi, Tony

Rodella, John Pointer

Senior Assembly Members: Lorenzo Rios, Tony Gitt, Elizabeth Busick,

Shirley Krohn, Lavada Theus, Lauren Rolfe, Anne Warren

Absent: None

A quorum was present.

III. Guests: None

IV. Public Comment: None

V. Agenda September 23, 2021

SA Warren moved to approve the agenda of September 23, 2021. SA Rolfe seconded the motion. Agenda approved as submitted.

Record of Vote:

1100014 01 1010:		
Yes	No	Abstention
Mehlman		
Lemucchi		
Bortel		
Rodella		
Pointer		
Rios		
Gitt		

Busick	
Krohn	
Theus	
Rolfe	
Warren	

VI. Approval of September 2, 2021 Minutes

Minutes will be approved at a future meeting.

VII. Correspondence None

VIII. Ahoc Bylaws Committee Report

SS Lemucchi (Chair of Adhoc Bylaw Committee) reviewed the report and committee recommendations. SS Gitt moved approval of the Committee's recommendations/report. SA Krohn seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Record of Vote:

Yes	No	Abstention
Mehlman		
Lemucchi		
Bortel		
Rodella		
Pointer		
Rios		
Gitt		
Busick		
Krohn		
Theus		
Rolfe		
Warren		

IX. Annual Session – Virtual Format

A. ED reviewed format for upcoming virtual annual session. This involved staggered Committee Hearings(so all could participate), no amendments and only hearings in house of origin and then final joint session voting. SS Mehlman moved to approve the virtual format. SA Theus seconded the motion.

Motion carried unanimously.

Record of Vote:

Yes	No	Abstention
Mehlman		
Lemucchi		
Bortel		
Rodella		
Pointer		

Rios	
Gitt	
Busick	
Krohn	
Theus	
Rolfe	
Warren	

B. Moira Jackson Award

3 nominations were received (Anne Warren, Lauren Rolfe and John Pointer) After review and discussion, SS Rodella moved that SA Lauren Rolfe receive the Moira Jackson Award for 2021. SS Lemucchi seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Record of Vote:

Yes	No	Abstention
Mehlman		
Lemucchi		
Bortel		
Rodella		
Pointer		
Rios		
Gitt		
Busick		
Krohn		
Theus		
Rolfe		
Warren		

X. Review of Standing Rules

Further discussion delayed until after session.

Next meeting scheduled for October 20th.

Meeting adjourned at 11:23AM

SS= Senior Senator

SA = Senior Assembly Member

ED = Executive Director

BK= Bagley Keene Open Meeting Act

CDA = CA Department of Aging