

STATE OF CALIFORNIA CALIFORNIA SENIOR LEGISLATURE

1020 N Street, Room 513, Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone (916) 552-8056 Fax (916) 552-8013 4csl.org

JOINT RULES COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES August 16, 2019

Chair: Senior Senator John Pointer
Vice Chair: Senior Senator Tony Rodella
Vice Chair: Senior Assembly Member Shirley Krohn

I. Call To Order

The Joint Rules Committee Meeting was called to order by Chair, SS Pointer at 12:26 p.m.

II. Roll

Senior Senators: Rex Whisnand, Tony Rodella, John Pointer, David

Wood

Senior Assembly Members: Elizabeth Busick, Shirley Krohn, Anne

Warren, Lauren Rolfe, Lavada Theus

Absent: SS Charles Molnar

A quorum was present.

Guests: Ellie Bloch (alternate), Allan Bortel (alternate)

III. Approve Agenda of August 16, 2019

SS Rodella moved to approve the agenda with correction to John Pointers title to SS. SA Krohn seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Record of Vote:

Yes	No	Abstention
Wood	110	7100101111011
Whisnand		
Rodella		
Pointer		
Busick		
Krohn		
Theus		

IV. Approve July 18, 2019 Minutes

SS Whisnand moved to approve the minutes as presented. SS Rodella seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Record of Vote:

Yes	No	Abstention
		Wood
Whisnand		
Rodella		
Pointer		
Busick		
Krohn		
Theus		
Warren		
Rolfe		

V. Approval of Awards for Annual Session

SA Rolfe moved to awarding two Moira Jackson Awards for 2019 year only. SA Busick seconded the motion. Nominations were received for SS Pointer, SA Warren and SSM Bailey Note: Staff not eligible. Moira Jackson Nominees left the meeting during this discussion and vote. Motion carried.

Record of Vote:

Yes	No	Abstention
Wood		
Whisnand		
Rodella		
Busick		
Krohn		
Theus		
Rolfe		

VI. Formal Recognition for SSM

SS Wood moved the Committee provide formal recognition/appreciation for SSM. SA Krohn seconded the motion. Note: Nominees were still out of the room. Motion carried.

Record of Vote:

Yes	No	Abstention
Wood		
Whisnand		
Rodella		

Busick	
Krohn	
Theus	
Rolfe	

VII. Session Awards

SA Rolfe moved to recognize Jeffrey Roth (Assembly Member Rubio's Office) for the Partnership Award for his constant support and diligence in assisting CSL this past year. SA Busick seconded the motion.

SS Rodella moved to recognize SA Warren with the Anne Mack Award this year as she had the #2 proposal this year. The #1 proposal author resigned. SS Whisnand seconded the motion.

SS Pointer moved to present SA Rubio with the Henry Mello Award this year, as she was a true "champion" for CSL. SS Rodella seconded the motion.

All awards were considered as one vote.

Record of Vote:

Yes	No	Abstention
Wood		
Whisnand		
Rodella		
Pointer		
Busick		
Krohn		
Theus		
Warren		
Rolfe		

VIII. CSL Organization Structure

SA Rolfe moved to change the SSM title to Executive Director with intent to review budget for ability to increase classification and review at next meeting. SS Rodella seconded the motion.

Record of Vote:

Yes	No	Abstention
Wood		
Whisnand		
Rodella		
Pointer		
Busick		
Krohn		
Theus		

Warren	
Rolfe	

IX. Adhoc Planning Committee

SA Warren moved to create and Adhoc Planning Committee w/ SS Whisnand as Chair to review the organizational structure, long range planning etc. SS Rodella seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Record of Vote:

Yes	No	Abstention
Wood		
Whisnand		
Rodella		
Pointer		
Busick		
Krohn		
Theus		
Warren		
Rolfe	_	

Meeting Adjourned at 3:23PM.

SS= Senior Senator

SA = Senior Assembly Member

BK= Bagley Keene Open Meeting Act